Meet NYU Prague Global Ambassador, Tammy H.!

Throughout the semester, you will have the opportunity to hear from NYU Prague alumni to gain their firsthand insight and tips.

Today, meet Tammy H., who studied in Prague in Fall 2015.

DSC04883Major: Media, Culture, and Communication

What is your favorite memory about your time abroad?  My favorite memory about my time abroad is traveling to different countries over the weekend and actually running into people I knew who were currently studying at other NYU global sites. I thought that was the most incredible coincidence.

What was the most interesting course you took and why?  The most interesting course I took was Russia and East-Central Europe; it was both challenging and rewarding. I was nervous to take the course at first because I had never taken history at NYU before, but it turned out to be one of my favorite classes. Learning about Russia and East-Central Europe’s past was especially interesting given the context of the Czech Republic. I would definitely recommend this course!

Name two things you should not have packed. I was pretty good about under-packing. It was more like what I shouldn’t have brought back home (AKA 7 pounds of tour guides and city maps). Sorry, Mom.

What two things do you wish you had packed?  My polaroid camera and my jump rope!

What do you miss most?  The view of the Vltava, brunch in Vinohrady, and Bageterie Boulevard!

If you could go back in time and do one thing differently, what would it be?  Eat more Bageterie Boulevard.

What advice would you give about housing? Don’t worry about it! Every dorm has its perks and if you’re open to new experiences, you’ll make new friends wherever you go. I ended up becoming close to a lot of different people who lived in my dorm just based on hanging out in the common area or having midterms to study for. It became like a second family to me and I loved running into people in the common areas.

Leave a Reply

